Awards Dinner Celebrates Community Giving

Thanks to the generosity of our community, we raised 3.6 million meals during the 2012 Holiday Food Drive. There are always a few people and organizations that stand out—either for the originality of their fund raising activities or their ability to build a team and execute. The Annual Awards Dinner is an opportunity to express our appreciation to these individuals and organizations.


Above and Beyond award winner, Jocelyn Webber (center)


Held at the Hotel Paradox in Santa Cruz on March 13th, the evening began with a welcome from Second Harvest CEO, Willy Elliot-McCrea, who expressed his heartfelt appreciation for the support of our Elected Officials, Second Harvest Board Members and Food Drive Chairs (past and present). He also recognized our network of agencies and volunteers, food bank staff, and the entire community for their support.


Past Board Chair, Jeremy Lezin (right)

Danny Keith, Chief Development & Technology Officer at Second Harvest, thanked our sponsors and introduced the 2012 Holiday Food Drive co-chairs, Rene Schlaepfer, Pastor, Twin Lakes Church and Ken Kannappan, CEO of Plantronics. As we’ve come to expect, both co-chairs did a great job of sharing their personal stories and reasons for supporting Second Harvest.


Ken Kannappan, CEO Plantronics

In keeping with tradition, Rene Schlaepfer, who is moving on after serving as co-chair for two years, “passed the baton” to incoming co-chair, Sarah Latham, Vice Chancellor of Business & Administration Services at UCSC. Welcome Sarah!


Rene Schlaepfer and Susan Latham

The following awards were presented:

Special Promotions: Cilantros, Capitola Mall, Soif Wine Bar

Media Award: Santa Cruz Sentinel, Clear Channel Communications, Good

Times, Register-Pajaronian

Helping Hands: Tim Carl, Erik’s Deli (Watsonville), Santa Cruz CORE Fitness

Annual Rotary Award: Santa Cruz Sunrise Rotary

Above & Beyond: John Steele, Community Foundation, Jocelyn Webber

Coordinators of the Year: Kelli Greene, Plantronics; Willie King, Boardwalk Bowl

Big Step: UCSC

CEO’s Cup: Wells Fargo Bank

Chairman’s Cup: Toyota of Santa Cruz

President’s Cup: County of Santa Cruz

Heavyweight: Twin Lakes Church

Presenting Sponsor: Bay Federal Credit Union

Kate Award (Most Likes): Nick Balesteri

Second Harvest Board Members, Kristine Ronzano and Donna Mosich, presented the 2013 Hunger Fighters of Year Awards to Claudine Wildman, County of Santa Cruz and Katherine Sutton, Meals on Wheels. These exceptional women have made a difference in the lives of so many people and their work is truly inspirational.

Read more about them here.

View the complete list of Can Awards here.

Thanks to our:

Food Champions

Alexis Party Rental, Central California Alliance for Health, Dominican Hospital, Good Times, K-Ocean 105.1 FM,
KION 1460 AM, KTOM 92.7, La Preciosa 100.7 y 100.9 FM, PG&E, Plantronics, Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Sentinel, Wells Fargo

Community Partners

Central Coast ABC, Comcast, Community Printers, Complete Mailing, Good Times, KCBA 35, KION 45, KPIG 107.5,
KSBW 8, Register-Pajaronian, Telemundo, Times Publishing Group

Special thanks to :

Hotel Paradox, Solaire Restaurant & Bar, Mica Cellars


Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in FoodBank Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook