Board of Trustees

Lisa Kirk, Chair
Human Resources Consultant

Lisa Kirk has over 30 years experience in Human Resources and recently retired as Vice President at Seagate Technology. Her extensive management experience includes leading global HR teams across multiple industries including high tech, aerospace, retail, and non-profit. She is committed to working with non-profit organizations such as Second Harvest that promote healthy life choices. She serves on the Executive Committee.

Tricia Wynne, Vice Chair
State of California Retired

Tricia has 30 years of experience in public service as an attorney and policy analyst for the State of California.  She recently moved to Aptos and has been a huge supporter and volunteer of Second Harvest since she arrived. Along with her professional experience and passion for service Tricia’s outgoing personality creates a perfect fit for committee work as well.  Tricia is Chair of the Ambassador Committee.

Rick Weiss, Treasurer
Bay Federal Credit Union

Rick is the VP and CFO of Bay Federal Credit Union. He brings over 23 years of financial management experience to his work with Second Harvest.  Rick joined the board in 2014 and is currently serving as an active member of the Finance and Executive Committees.

Marilyn Mersereau, Corporate Secretary

Marilyn has more than 25 years of experience leading global marketing teams. She has served as Chief Marketing Officer and SVP of C3 Energy Management, Senior Vice President of Corporate Marketing at Cisco, and has held various senior marketing roles at IBM. She has been involved with international marketing for top companies in the food and beverage industry, including Coca-Cola, Wendy’s, and Burger King International.

Bob Norton
Business Consultant

Bob Norton served on the Aptos Chamber Board for ten years and Above the Line for eight years. He has extensive management and organizational experience in nearly every aspect of the grocery industry and a strong desire to give back to the community. Bob currently serves on the Executive, Board Development, Finance and Audit Committees.

Michael Bryant, CPA
LMGW Certified Public Accountant

As a CPA serving nonprofit organizations, Michael Bryant has gained an in depth understanding of nonprofit accounting, internal controls and fundraising. In his role as a member of the Second Harvest Audit Committee, he uses this experience to help improve operations and finances. Michael is passionate about ensuring everyone in Santa Cruz County has access to healthy food. Michael currently chairs the Audit Committee.

Teresita Hinojosa

Teresita Hinojosa was the first co-chair of Santa Cruz County’s first Hispanic Affairs Committee, which later became the Latino Affairs Commission. She worked for ten years on behalf of the Human Services Department administration’s Planning & Evaluation unit as the primary contracts analyst. Teresita has served on the Board of Directors of Salud Para la Gente. She also worked for five years on homeless services and was the Continuum of Care Coordinator (COC) for the County’s Homeless Action Partnership (HAP).

Matt Huffaker
City of Watsonville

Matt Huffaker serves as the Assistant City Manager for the City of Watsonville. Prior to Watsonville, Matt served the City of Walnut Creek for 10 years in a variety of roles, including Deputy City Manager. Matt brings over 15 years of public administration experience to his work at Second Harvest, and has a passion for public service and building healthy communities.

Sarah Latham

Sarah Latham has served as the Vice Chancellor for Business and Administrative Services at UCSC since fall of 2012. Her portfolio includes the Sustainability Office, Colleges, Housing and Educational Services, Physical Plant, Physical Planning and Construction, Risk and Safety Services, Real Estate, Financial Affairs, and Human Resources. Prior to UCSC, Sarah served for ten years at Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama where she was Vice President of Operations and Planning. Sarah currently serves on the Finance Committee.

Ralph Maltese
Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties

Ralph Maltese is currently VP of operations for Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties. Prior to this position, and as the owner of BPR Consulting, LLC, Ralph used his 20 years of experience in project management and process re-engineering in the food industry. He led the effort to develop the five-year IT Roadmap for Second Harvest and has a passionate belief in our mission and in-depth knowledge of our organization. Ralph is currently the Vice Chair of the Second Harvest Finance Committee.

Donna Mosich
DM Technical

Donna is an independent consultant of Learning and Training-DM Technical Services. She has served on several non-profit organizations as committee volunteer and leader. She recently served three terms as the president of Friends of Main Street, the non-profit organization for Main Street Elementary School. Donna continues her involvement by being on the Fund Development Committee and taking a leading role on the Chefs’ Dinner and Silicon Valley Leadership Group Turkey Trot Committees. 

Laurie Negro
Betty Burger

A local entrepreneur with a background in mergers and acquisitions, Laurie Negro is the founder and owner of several businesses, including Betty Burger and Gemma Shoes. Her involvement in the community includes serving as a youth mentor, supporting the development and expansion of local businesses, and volunteering with Second Harvest. Laurie is a native of Santa Cruz, where her family’s roots go back more than 100 years.

June Ponce
Sun Valley Berries

Throughout her career, June Ponce has developed strong relationships with local businesses and non-profits. June leverages her vast experience and dedication to the Pajaro Valley to lead Second Harvest’s South County Engagement task force, and also serves on the Fund Development Committee. June is also on the boards of El Pajaro Community Development Corporation, United Business Agriculture and the Cabrillo College Foundation. June chairs the Pajaro Valley Engagement Committee.

Advisory Board

Bruce McPherson, Chair

Jeremy Lezin, Vice Chair

Jess Brown

Diane Cooley

Rebecca Garcia

Ken Kannappan

Edward J. Kelly III

John Laird 

Marq Lipton

Harvey Nickelson

Gayle Ortiz

William Ow

Miles Reiter

Manny Solano

Mary Solari

Steve Spragens